Guilty Smile

Have you ever smiled or laughed at something and felt guilty for doing so? 

Well, I did. Many times. 

For someone who’s having a hard time, I sure laugh a lot. 

It must be my brain though.

Or, it must be my heart.

But it may be my humanity.

It may be a shield to keep my sanity. 

That, I do not know.

I have people to rely on, I know. 

But for someone who was told to be a dead weight, I cannot force myself to ask.

I can only hope they would hear my cry. 

A cry for help.

A cry for salvation.

A cry to live.

A cry to survive. 

Would it be too much to ask?

Would it be foolish to hope? 

Leave a Reply

